How to deal with grief and loss, with Dr. Chloe Paidoussis-Mitchell | Guardian Master Classes

0

If you’ve lost a loved one or know someone who has, you’ll probably know there’s no such thing as grief. It can be incredibly isolating, disorienting, painful, and long-lasting. It can be all of these, or none. Grieving is a personal experience, and we don’t share the same journey.

In this masterclass with a licensed counseling psychologist Dr Chloe Paidoussis-Mitchell, you will first learn what grief is, then how to move through the experience for healing and acceptance. Chloé will offer you a framework and a safe space to process and better understand grief, which will help you manage your own or support a loved one.

You’ll discover why relying on ‘coping mechanisms’ may not be the healthiest way, how emotional repression can ‘escape’ and why there is no ‘repair’ sorrow, nor shortcut. Instead, you’ll discover a deeply compassionate guide, with tools and resources you can turn to whenever you need them.

This course is for…

Course content

  • What is mourning?

  • The different types of grief, e.g. acute, chronic, participatory, traumatic

  • How does grief affect us?

  • Framework for understanding grief

  • Strategies for coping with grief

  • Links between grief and mental health

  • Questions and answers

Tutor profile

Chloe Paidoussis-Mitchell Photography: Chloé Paidoussis-Mitchell

Dr Chloe Paidoussis-Mitchell is a mental health expert, specializing in grief and loss. She runs her own private clinic and works with clients around the world to help them find life again despite pain, anguish, suffering and loss. She has authored a number of articles on grief and traumatic loss and her psycho-holistic therapy work has been published in books and academic journals. Dr Chloe is a lecturer and supervisor at the New School of Psychotherapy & Counseling and the Existential Academy in London and has been a guest lecturer and moderator for a number of mental health programs including the University’s Executive MBA of Cambridge. In addition to her academic work, Dr. Chloe is a regular consultant to the private sector, providing grief and mental health advice to law, finance, banking, retail and consulting groups to help them create work cultures that normalize bereavement responses and promote psychological safety for all impacted. Dr Chloe is passionate about raising awareness on how to support mental health and wellbeing in times of crisis and change and is a frequent contributor to the mental health debate, with recent appearances on CNN, BBC Radio 2 Breakfast Show and local BBC radio.

Details

Dated: Wednesday, October 5, 2022
Time: 6:30-8:30pm BST
Price: £49 (plus £2.83 booking fee)

This masterclass is available worldwide. If you are joining us from outside the UK, please use this time zone converter to check your local live stream time.

6.30pm BST | 7:30 p.m. CEST | 10:30 a.m. PDT | 1:30 p.m. EDT

You will receive a link to the webinar 24 hours and 2 hours before the start time of 6:30 p.m. (BST).

Sign up for our newsletter and you’ll be among the first to find out about our latest courses and special offers. You can also follow us on Twitterand read our latest articles and interviews on our blog.

Guardian Master Class Information

To contact us, click here. Terms and conditions can be found here.

By registering for this masterclass, you are helping to support the Guardian, and it allows us to keep our quality reporting open to all.

All Guardian Masterclasses are fully accessible – but please contact us if you have any questions or concerns.

Return policy

Once the purchase has been made, we cannot refund you if you do not attend or if you cancel your event booking. Please see our terms and conditions for more information on our refund policy.

Share.

Comments are closed.